Thursday, 7 October 2010

Mario Vargas Llosa awarded Nobel Prize

Peter Englund, the Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, today announced that the Nobel Prize in literature for 2010 has been awarded to the Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt, and defeat”.
This comes as the last but one of the many Nobel Prize announcements this week. The last and most prestigious of them will be announced tomorrow at 11 a.m., when Thorbjørn Jagland, leader of the Norwegian Nobel Committee will let the world know who will receive the Peace Prize for 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are welcome, but should be signed - preferably by a name, but an initial or a nick will also be accepted. Advertisements are not allowed. COMMENTS WHICH DO NOT COMPLY WITH THESE RULES WILL NOT BE PUBLISHED.